SHGM Call Center: 444 60 01

Turkey is Reelected for the Vice-Presidency of European Civil Aviation Conference ECAC…

6 Jul 2015
In the Plenary Session of the European Civil Aviation Conference (ECAC), held on July 1, 2015 in Strasbourg, Bilal EKŞİ (Director General of Civil Aviation of Turkey), is reelected for the vice-presidency of ECAC for the second time. Thus, Turkey kept its position for three more years in the decision making mechanisms of ECAC, which is one of the most important organizations regulating the European civil aviation.

In the Plenary Session, 60th anniversary of the creation of ECAC in 1955 for the purpose of promoting the continued development of a safe, efficient and sustainable air transport system in Europe was celebrated with the participation of Directors General of 44 ECAC Member States, and representatives of ICAO Member States, IATA, ACI and many other international and regional aviation organizations.

In the Plenary Session, developments in European air transport over 60 years, work programme of ECAC, and budget for the 2016-2018 were discussed. It re-elected Ingrid Cherfils (Director General of Civil Aviation for Sweden) as ECAC President and confirmed the appointment of Patrick Gandil and Bilal Eksi (Directors General of Civil Aviation for France and Turkey respectively) as ECAC Vice-Presidents.

“ECAC was established after the second World War by 19 countries, which saw an opportunity to build an organization that would serve and support the development of air transport in Europe. “Today ECAC has 44 Member States, the largest civil aviation organization in Europe …” highlighted ECAC President Ingrid Cherfils in her opening remarks. Raymond Benjamin, Secretary General of ICAO, remarked the cooperation between ECAC and its sister regional organizations ACAC, AFCAC, LACAC and EASA and EUROCONTROL, and contributions made to global civil aviation system.

ECAC’s Member States are: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.

Respectfully announced to the public.